(January 30, 2010 - JEONJU, South Korea) – Kevin Reynolds of Coquitlam, B.C., capped a great showing for Canada at the ISU Four Continents figure skating championships on Saturday with a bronze medal in men’s competition.

Canada ended the four-day event with four medals (one gold, one silver and two bronze).

In the men’s free skate, Adam Rippon of the U.S., leaped from seventh place after the short program to win the gold with 225.78 points.  Tatsuki Machida of Japan took the silver at 217.48 and Reynolds earned his first senior level international medal placing third at 212.99.

Reynolds, first after the short program, launched his free skate Saturday in spectacular fashion landing two quadruple jumps then two triple-triple combinations.  But he couldn’t sustain the pace and fell twice.  His free skate ranked eighth.

“I had a great start and I was able to hang onto a medal,” said Reynolds, 19.  “But halfway through the program, my legs seemed to seize and when I fell on the triple Axel it was hard for me to get back into the program. Early on I was attacking then I got more tense and nervous as I neared the home stretch.”

Shawn Sawyer of Edmunston, N.B., executed a clean program and posted the fourth best score in the free skate to climb from 10th to seventh overall. In addition to landing seven jumps including two in combination and a triple combo with variations, Sawyer wowed the crowd with his incredible flexibility.  He posted a personal best free skate score at 143.98.

Joey Russell of Labrador City, N.L., placed 11th.

Also stepping on the podium for Canada this week were Kaitlyn Weaver and Andrew Poje of Waterloo, Ont., with gold in ice dancing while Allie Hann-McCurdy of Nanaimo, B.C., and Michael Coreno of Delhi, Ont., were second in the same event.  Meagan Duhamel of Lively, Ont., and Craig Buntin of Kelowna, B.C., were third in pairs.

For more information visit: www.isu.org

 
Home  |  About Us  |  Join  |  Programs  |  Coaches  |  Store  |  Boutique  |  Members Only
Signin  |  Signup
© 2011 SkateCanada.ca. All rights reserved.

(Le 30 janvier 2010 - JEONJU CITY, Corée du Sud) - Kevin Reynolds, de Coquitlam, en C.-B., a complété une excellente performance pour le Canada aux championnats des Quatre Continents de patinage artistique de l’UIP avec la médaille de bronze dans le simple masculin.

Le Canada a terminé la compétition de quatre jours avec quatre médailles (une d'or, une d'argent et deux médailles de bronze).

Dans le programme libre masculin, Adam Rippon, des É.-U., est parti de la septième position après le programme court pour gagner la médaille d’or avec 225,78 points. Tatsuki Machida, du Japon, a obtenu la médaille d’argent avec 217,48 et Reynolds a remporté sa première médaille au niveau international senior en se classant troisième avec 212,99.

Reynolds, premier après le programme court, a entrepris son programme libre, samedi, de manière spectaculaire en réussissant deux quadruples sauts puis deux combinaisons triple-triple. Mais il n’a pu soutenir ce rythme et est tombé deux fois. Son programme libre a été classé huitième.

«J’ai eu un excellent début et j’ai réussi à m’accrocher à une médaille, a dit Reynolds, âgé de 19 ans. Mais à mi-chemin dans le programme, mes jambes ont semblé figer et quand je suis tombé lors du triple Axel j’ai eu de la difficulté à me retrouver dans le programme. Au début, j’attaquais, puis je suis devenu plus tendu et nerveux en approchant de la fin.»

Shawn Sawyer, d’Edmunston, au N.-B., a exécuté un programme propre et a obtenu la quatrième meilleure note du programme libre pour passer de la 10e à la septième place du classement général. En plus de réussir sept sauts, incluant deux en combinaison et un triple combo avec des variations, Sawyer a enchanté la foule avec son incroyable flexibilité. Il a obtenu une note record personnel pour le programme libre avec 143,98.

Joey Russell, de Labrador City, à T.-N.L., a terminé 11e.

Les autres qui sont montés sur le podium pour le Canada, cette semaine, ont été Kaitlyn Weaver et Andrew Poje, de Waterloo, en Ontario, avec la médaille d’or en danse, tandis qu’Allie Hann-McCurdy, de Nanaimo, en C.-B., et Michael Coreno, de Delhi, en Ontario, ont terminé deuxième dans la même épreuve. Meagan Duhamel, de Lively, en Ontario, et Craig Buntin, de Kelowna, en C.-B., ont terminé troisièmes en couples.

Pour plus d’information visitez: www.isu.org

 
Home  |  About Us  |  Join  |  Programs  |  Coaches  |  Store  |  Boutique  |  Members Only
Signin  |  Signup
© 2011 PatinageCanada.ca. Tous droits réservés.