(February 6, 2009) – Earlier this week, the True Sport Foundation announced the finalists for the 36th Canadian Sport Awards, the ultimate recognition event for excellence in Canadian sport. Figure skating stars, Jeffrey Buttle, 26 of Smooth Rock Falls, Ont., and Tessa Virtue, 19 of London, Ont. and Scott Moir, 21 of Ilderton, Ont., were all nominated.

The annual awards program promotes sporting excellence across Canada and reminds Canadians how sport lifts the human spirit. It is a tribute to the hard work, dedication, and the victories of our country’s finest athletes.

Buttle is nominated in the Male Athlete of the Year category. He is up against equestrian gold medalist Eric Lamaze and Olympic canoeing medalist Adam Van Koeverden.

Virtue and Moir are finalists in the Partners of the Year category. The Olympic gold men’s eight rowing team (Wetzel/Light/Rutledge/Seiterle/Howard/Kreek/Hamilton/Price/Byrnes) and Olympic silver rowing pair of Dave Calder and Scott Frandsen are also finalists in the partner category.

The ceremony and announcement of recipients of each award will take place on Tuesday, February 24, 2009 at Ottawa’s National Gallery of Canada.

Nomination Eligibility
Any Canadian citizen can nominate an individual, team or corporation for the Canadian Sport Awards. Individuals and corporations can also self-nominate. Eligible entries are for performances or contributions from January 1, 2008 through to December 31, 2008.

For complete nomination rules and guidelines, and more information about the Canadian Sport Awards, please visit www.canadiansportawards.ca.

Home  |  About Us  |  Join  |  Programs  |  Coaches  |  Store  |  Boutique  |  Members Only
Signin  |  Signup
© 2011 SkateCanada.ca. All rights reserved.

(Le 6 février 2009) - Plus tôt cette semaine, la Fondation Sport pur a annoncé les finalistes pour les 36e Prix sportifs canadiens, la célébration-phare de l’excellence sportive canadienne. Les patineurs artistiques, Jeffrey Buttle, 26 ans, de Smooth Rock Falls, Ont., ainsi que Tessa Virtue, 19 ans, de London, Ont. et Scott Moir, 21 ans, d’Ilderton, Ont., ont été mis en candidature.

Le programme annuel de prix souligne l'excellence sportive au Canada et rappelle aux Canadiens et aux Canadiennes que le sport contribue à l'épanouissement de l'esprit humain. C'est un hommage au travail acharné, au dévouement et aux exploits des meilleurs athlètes au pays.

Jeffrey Buttle est mis en candidature dans la catégorie de l’athlète masculin de l’année aux côtés d’Éric Lamaze, médaillé d’or dans les sports équestres, et d’Adam Van Koeverden, médaillé olympique en canoë-kayak.

Tessa Virtue et Scott Moir sont finalistes dans la catégorie des partenaires de l’année. L’équipe masculine d’aviron médaillée d’or olympique (Wetzel/Light/Rutledge/Seiterle/ Howard/Kreek/Hamilton/Price/Byrnes) et l’équipe d’aviron médaillée d’argent olympique composée de Dave Calder et Scott Frandsen sont aussi finalistes dans cette catégorie.

La cérémonie et l’annonce des récipiendaires de chaque prix auront lieu le mardi 24 février 2009, au Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, à Ottawa.

Admissibilité à la mise en candidature
Tout citoyen canadien peut mettre en candidature une personne, une équipe ou une entreprise pour les Prix sportifs canadiens. Les personnes et les entreprises peuvent aussi présenter elles-mêmes leur candidature. Les performances ou contributions admissibles devaient porter sur la période du 1er janvier 2008 au 31 décembre 2008.

Pour connaître les règles et lignes directrices complètes sur la mise en candidature et pour plus de renseignements sur les Prix sportifs canadiens, veuillez visiter http://www.prixsportifscanadiens.ca.

Home  |  About Us  |  Join  |  Programs  |  Coaches  |  Store  |  Boutique  |  Members Only
Signin  |  Signup
© 2011 PatinageCanada.ca. Tous droits réservés.