(December 27, 2008) – In 2008, the Georgetown Skating Club (GSC) turned 50 years old!  Throughout the year, GSC, which is 60km west of Toronto, took several special opportunities to celebrate this wonderful accomplishment.  Some of the initiatives they organized to keep the celebration going strong included:

  • 2nd Annual Skate-a-thon  
  • Ice Show with interactive videos and skating to movies from the past 50 years
  • 2nd Annual GSC Awards Banquet   
  • 5 athletes were recognized by the Town of Halton Hills for their Skate Canada test achievements and provincial and national championship accomplishments in synchronized skating (Laura Malatesta, Kaitlyn Ford, Haleigh Rees, Madison Kelly and Bethany Rees) 
  • Special Athlete Coach Seminar with Christopher Mabee and Tugba Karadimar
  • 2008 Skates Alive competition, hosting 400 skaters from the Midway Area West skating clubs including Acton, Brampton-Chingcuacousy, Dufferin-Peel, Elora, Fergus, Georgetown, Hillsburgh, Milton, Orangeville, Shelburne and Streetsville-Meadowvale.

GSC and the Central Ontario section executed these great activities with the support of an amazing group of volunteer Board Members that give so generously of their time and expertise to coordinate this ambitious undertaking.  Throughout the year, the GSC has also received special greetings from Prime Minister Stephen Harper, Premier Dalton McGuinty, MPs, MPPs and the local Mayor.  In addition to all this great recognition, the Club has also been nominated as the Sport Club of the Month by the Town of Halton Hills for hosting the 2008 Skates Alive and for reaching their 50th Anniversary milestone.

Thanks to the team at Georgetown Skating Club for sharing their story.  Congratulations to a successful 50 years and best of luck on the next 50 and beyond!

Home  |  About Us  |  Join  |  Programs  |  Coaches  |  Store  |  Boutique  |  Members Only
Signin  |  
© 2011 SkateCanada.ca. All rights reserved.

(Le 27 décembre 2008) - En 2008, le Club de patinage Georgetown (CPG) a célébré son 50e anniversaire! Tout au long de l’année, le CPG, situé à 60 km à l’ouest de Toronto, a saisi plusieurs occasions pour célébrer ce merveilleux accomplissement. Parmi les initiatives organisées afin de fêter en grand, mentionnons les suivantes :

  • 2e marathon annuel de patinage;
  • revue sur glace avec vidéos interactives et patinage avec présentation de films des 50 dernières années;
  • 2e banque annuel de remise de prix du CPG;
  • 5 athlètes ont été reconnus par la ville de Halton Hills pour leurs réussites de tests de Patinage Canada et leurs exploits provinciaux et nationaux en patinage synchronisé (Laura Malatesta, Kaitlyn Ford, Haleigh Rees, Madison Kelly et Bethany Rees);
  • séminaire pour les entraîneurs d’athlètes spéciaux avec Christopher Mabee et Tugba Karadimar;
  • compétition Skates Alive 2008, à laquelle ont participé 400 patineurs des clubs de patinage Midway Area West, dont Acton, Brampton-Chingcuacousy, Dufferin-Peel, Elora, Fergus, Georgetown, Hillsburgh, Milton, Orangeville, Shelburne et Streetsville-Meadowvale.

Le CPG et la section du Centre de l’Ontario ont accompli ces superbes activités grâce à l’appui d’un groupe incroyable de membres bénévoles du conseil d’administration, qui ont si généreusement consacré leur temps et expertise afin de coordonner cette ambitieuse entreprise. Durant l’année, le premier ministre du Canada Stephen Harper, le premier ministre de l’Ontario Dalton McGuinty, des députés nationaux et provinciaux ainsi que le maire local ont salué le CPG. Outre cette extraordinaire reconnaissance, le club a aussi été mis en candidature pour le club sportif du mois par la ville de Halton Hills pour l’organisation de Skates Alive 2008 ainsi que son 50e anniversaire.

Merci à l’équipe du Club de patinage Georgetown pour nous avoir fait part de cette nouvelle. Félicitations pour vos 50 ans de succès et nos meilleurs vœux de réussite durant les 50 prochaines années et au-delà!

Home  |  About Us  |  Join  |  Programs  |  Coaches  |  Store  |  Boutique  |  Members Only
Signin  |  Signup
© 2011 PatinageCanada.ca. Tous droits réservés.