2014 Canadian Tire National Skating Championships
January 9 – 15, 2014
Ottawa, Ontario

VOLUNTEER INFORMATION PACKAGE

[Download PDF]


Overview

The Canadian Tire National Skating Championships provide talented young skaters with the opportunity to experience national level competition early in their development with the understanding that this exposure will assist them in preparing for senior level competition.

Ottawa will be the host city for this exciting event, and will welcome approximately 265 skaters, along with officials, coaches and families to the community.

The Canadian Tire National Skating Championships is one of the premier annual figure skating events in the world and one of Canada’s largest annual national sport championships. The Canadian Tire National Skating Championships allow Skate Canada to feature and recognize our elite competitive skaters and provide entertaining skating for both live and television audiences across the country.

Dates: Monday, January 6
Thursday, January 9
Friday, January 10
Wednesday, January 15
Set-up begins
Official practice begins
Competition begins
Last day of competition

 

Competition Venue: Canadian Tire Centre
1000 Palladium Drive
Ottawa, Ontario K2V 1A5
 
Practice Venue: Bell Sensplex
1565 Maple Grove Rd
Ottawa, Ontario K2V 1A3

 

Organizing Committee

Local Organizing Committee and Event Volunteers
The Organizing Committee (OC) is led by Skate Canada staff and Skate Canada – Eastern Ontario volunteers. A Local Organizing Committee (LOC) consisting of volunteer supervisors and coordinators has been established. The LOC, in combination with the Skate Canada staff, will execute the event and assist in recruiting volunteers for the various functions that will form the entire volunteer team. A target number of 285 volunteers will be recruited for this prestigious event.

Volunteer Recruitment
All interested and qualified individuals are invited to apply for volunteer roles. To be considered for a volunteer position, you must complete the online application as soon as possible. Applicants will be accepted until each area has been filled. The volunteer application deadline is December 1, 2013. No new applicants will be accepted following this date.

All applicants will be notified of their application status within 21 business days after their application has been received. Selection is based on the following criteria: the positions available, the individual’s background/experience and availability. Once approved and assigned to a specific area, a member of the LOC will contact the volunteer to discuss details of scheduling and job function.

Volunteers able to contribute a minimum of 20 hours will be given priority in the selection process. Volunteer applicants may be asked to provide a security and/or criminal records check.

Age Requirements
Volunteers must be a minimum of 15 years of age or older by January 6, 2014 (with special exceptions). See details below regarding age requirements.

 

Volunteer Areas of Interest

General Competencies, Qualities and Qualifications of a Volunteer
Volunteering at these events is an exciting opportunity which also brings a responsibility to execute your volunteer role to the best of your ability as a representative of Skate Canada.

There are a variety of skill sets that will be required in different positions, including:

  • Ability to create a welcoming environment for competitors, team personnel, media and spectators
  • Excellent oral communication and interpersonal skills
  • Ability to work as part of a team in a professional and courteous manner
  • Ability to perform varying levels of manual labour
  • Background in figure skating and knowledge of the sport is an asset
  • Advanced Computer application skills – Microsoft Word and Excel
  • Strong organizational skills and the ability to handle multiple projects simultaneously
  • Ability to handle sensitive information in a professional and confidential manner
  • Ability to work in a fast paced and high energy environment
  • Ability to deal with difficult and unexpected situations.
  • Language skills – ability to work in English, French and other languages is an asset


There are several distinct areas in which volunteers may choose to work:

  1. General
  2. Venue Operations
  3. Hotel and Registration
  4. Transportation
  5. Medical


An outline of the different areas, brief job descriptions and skills required for each area is provided below.

  1. General
    Volunteers will be needed in other areas that may not fit into the broader categories.
     
  2. Venue Operations
    General skills required for Venue Operations include: an operational knowledge of figure skating events or task-specific knowledge. Experience at the club, regional, sectional or national (preferred) level for all positions is recommended.

Areas include:

  • Catering - Assist with all venue lounges and any other catering that is planned. Create a welcoming, clean and tidy environment for event participants. (*)
    Skills: Previous experience with food preparation and service, flexible and has an outgoing and friendly personality.
     
  • Customer Service – Assist with set-up, inventory and sales of boutique items and providing customer service at the Skate Canada information booth. (*)
    Skills: Bilingual French and English is preferred for some positions, good oral communication, an outgoing and friendly personality and experience with a cash register, cash, debit and credit card machines is an asset. Note: If the venue operates the boutique, volunteers may be reassigned to other related areas.
     
  • Doping Control Chaperone – Supervise selected athletes for doping procedures. Training will be provided on-site by a Canadian Centre for Ethics in Sport (CCES) Doping Control Officer.
    Skills: Attention to detail, discretion and confidentiality required. Previous experience as a doping control chaperone is preferred, and must be 18 years of age.
     
  • In-Venue Entertainment – Provide general information and coordination and/or giveaways to the public on the concourse level during the events and special in-venue promotions as required. Assist with the coordination of school programs which provide an opportunity for local schools to be introduced to the sport of figure skating. (*)
    Skills: Bilingual French and English is preferred for some positions, good oral communication and an outgoing and friendly personality.
     
  • Ice Operations – Works as dressing room attendants, ice captains, flower retriever supervisor, ice patcher supervisor, timers and others.
    Skills: Technical knowledge of the sport and attention to detail and timing. Experience at the sectional and/or national level for all positions is mandatory.
     
  • Logistics – Physical set-up and tear-down of venues and hotel(s) throughout the events, moving various deliverables, assist with victory ceremonies (set-up of podium). Set-up of signage and rooms in all venues and hotels. (*)
    Skills: Ability to do heavy lifting is required for some positions. Must be flexible with change, have a good attention to detail and ability to multi-task.
     
  • IT – assist in set up of computers, networks, cabling, etc., help troubleshoot basic computer and application issues, be available for IT related questions, and work with various areas to get connected to wired or wireless internet.
    Skills: Basic Windows/MAC Networking and troubleshooting skills, basic Network and Wireless network troubleshooting skills, and the ability to identify and work with translators to overcome language barriers. A diploma in a computer related field, or 2-3 years’ experience in a computer related field is an asset for this role.
     
  • Media Services – Work in the media centre at the competition venue to assist photographers, journalists and Skate Canada staff. Provide translational services when required.
    Skills: Administrative capability, bilingual French and English, strong computer skills particularly Internet search and transcription skills in order to take quotes from athletes and transcribe them accurately.
     
  • Operations Room – General event operations, posting information, delivering information, radio sign-in/sign-out, skate sharpening and repair, costume repair, etc. (*)
    Skills: Technical knowledge of the sport and computer skills is essential – Microsoft Word, Excel and Publisher. Experience at the sectional and/or national level for all positions is mandatory.
     
  • Outdoor Fan Festivals – Duties will range from customer service to VIP program assistance, and will involve interacting with spectators and fans participating in fan festival program activities outside of the competition ice rink primarily on the grounds at Canadian Tire Centre and outside of City Hall in downtown Ottawa. (*)
    Skills: Volunteers that are outgoing with experience in hospitality, VIP services, the hotel industry, and who speak English plus one other language are encouraged to apply in this area.
     
  • Printing Room – Print documents such as start orders, results, communications, as well as posting and delivering information and compiling the Daily Spin, if applicable. This team works closely with the Operations Room. (*)
    Skills: Experience as a Data Specialist and/or print room at national events is mandatory.
     
  • Security – Monitor specific access points and accreditation passes, transportation system and hotels to ensure unauthorized persons do not access restricted areas and monitor overall safety of participants.
    Skills: Ability to be assertive and attentive when monitoring tickets and accreditation passes, ability to stand for a long period of time and flexible with change.
     
  • VIP Services – Work in collaboration with the registration team to ensure guests or VIPs enjoy the best possible experience.
    Skills: Bilingual French and English is preferred for some positions, good oral communication, an outgoing and friendly personality and previous experience with VIP management is an asset.
     
  • Volunteer Services – Man the Volunteer Desk and assist with day-to-day volunteer services, including check-in, recognition program and information dissemination. (*)
    Skills: Bilingual French and English is preferred for some positions, good oral communication, an outgoing and friendly personality, great organizational skills and previous experience with volunteers is an asset.
     
  • Under 18 Participants (15-17 years of age) – please note that you will only see and must select the “Under 18 Participants” option on the application form. You will be placed onto a volunteer team listed above ((*) indicates a team that is able to accommodate those under the age of 18). If there is a specific volunteer team you are interested in, please make this note on the additional comments section of the application form.
    Requirements: a parent/guardian must be present for application submission, and read, understood and agree to the Volunteer Agreement included with the volunteer application.
     
  • Underage Volunteers – please note that these positions are subject to try-outs and/or specific selection processes.
    • Ceremony participants – the recruitment and selection process for ceremony participants will be determined by an interview session. Further details and information will be available at a later date, and information will be posted on the Skate Canada website.
    • Flower Retrievers - the recruitment and selection process for flower retrievers will be determined by a try-out session. Further details and information will be available at a later date, and information will be posted on the Skate Canada website.
    • Ice Patchers - must be at least 13 years of age and have passed a Junior Bronze or higher STARskate level test as of January 6, 2014. Excellent physical condition, attention to detail and skating speed is also required. Ice patchers will be required to wear skaters during their shifts.
  1. Hotel and Registration
    Hotel and Registration volunteers will assist with set-up of registration at the venue (stuffing registration packages, etc.), accreditation (cutting, laminating accreditations, signage, etc.), register event participants and provide general information throughout the events. Other duties at the official hotel(s) include acting as greeters / hosts, set-up functions and ticket takers. Skills: Bilingual French and English is preferred, other languages an asset, good oral communication, an outgoing and friendly personality, knowledge of the city, multi-tasking, professional, and ability to process information quickly are all assets.
    Skills: Bilingual French and English is preferred, other languages an asset, good oral communication, an outgoing and friendly personality, knowledge of the city, multi-tasking, professional, and ability to process information quickly are all assets.
     
  2. Transportation
    Drivers are required for airport pick-up and drop-offs, deliveries, special transportation needs and VIP services throughout the event. Transportation volunteers are also needed to staff the Transportation Desks which will field questions and organize transportation requests. Transportation drivers must be licensed and able to drive rental vehicles (i.e. appropriate age and driving record).
    Skills: A good knowledge of the city’s road system, excellent driving ability and record, a friendly, courteous personality and good oral communication.
     
  3. Medical
    Physicians, EMTs, nurses and therapists are required for rinkside medical assistance. Clinical administrators will also be required. Please complete the online Medical Application.
    Skills: Proof of credentials will be required upon approval of volunteer application.


Volunteer Recognition Program

Uniforms
All volunteers (up to 285) contributing at least twenty (20) hours of volunteer time will receive a volunteer uniform. This distinctive clothing is to be worn during all volunteer working hours. Each individual is to provide his/her own black, grey, or navy dress pants. Jeans, sweatpants, yoga pants and leggings are not permitted during practice or competition days, however may be worn at the arenas during set-up and tear-down.

Volunteer Orientation
All volunteers will be required to participate in comprehensive training to familiarize themselves with the event as a whole and their specific area of responsibility. The volunteer orientation is tentatively scheduled to take place on Tuesday, January 7 at the Canadian Tire Centre. Uniforms and accreditation will be distributed at this function. The dates, times and locations will be confirmed closer to the dates with an invitation.

Meals
Volunteer meals will be available at the venue and at the main hotel with snacks and beverages available throughout the day. Meals will be provided for those volunteers working over a meal period and working a minimum six hour shift. Meal tickets will be provided to the volunteers by their respective Supervisor or Coordinator.

Personal Expenses
Unfortunately Skate Canada is not able to reimburse expenses for volunteers. This includes travel, accommodations and/or mileage.

 

How to Apply

  1. Complete the Online Volunteer Application at www.skatecanada.ca by deadline of December 1, 2013.
  2. Questions? Email us at 2014canadians@skatecanada.ca or visit the volunteer frequently asked questions (F.A.Q) document on www.skatecanada.ca.

 

 
Home  |  About Us  |  Join  |  Programs  |  Coaches  |  Store  |  Boutique  |  Members Only
Signin  |  Signup
© 2011 SkateCanada.ca. All rights reserved.

Championnats nationaux de patinage artistique Canadian Tire 2014
Du 9 au 15 janvier 2014
Ottawa (Ontario)

Trousse de renseignements pour les bénévoles

[Télécharger PDF]


Aperçu

Les Championnats nationaux de patinage artistique Canadian Tire offrent aux jeunes patineurs talentueux la chance de participer à une compétition de niveau national au début de leur développement, étant entendu que cette expérience les aidera à se préparer à la compétition de niveau senior.

La ville d’Ottawa sera l’hôte de cet événement excitant et accueillera environ 265 patineurs, ainsi que des officiels, des entraîneurs et des familles dans la collectivité.

Les Championnats nationaux de patinage artistique Canadian Tire sont l’une des compétitions annuelles de patinage artistique les plus en vue au monde et l’un des plus grands championnats nationaux annuels de sport au Canada. Les Championnats nationaux de patinage artistique Canadian Tire permettent à Patinage Canada de présenter et de reconnaître ses patineurs de compétition d’élite et de divertir les spectateurs et les téléspectateurs dans l’ensemble du pays.

Dates: Lundi 6 janvier
Jeudi 9 janvier
Vendredi 10 janvier
Mercredi 15 janvier
Début de l’entraînement
Début de l’entraînement officiel
Début de la compétition
Dernière journée de compétition

 

Lieu de compétition : Centre Canadian Tire
1000, rue Palladium
Ottawa (Ontario) K2V 1A5
 
Lieu d’entraînement: Bell Sensplex
1565, rue Maple Grove
Ottawa (Ontario) K2V 1A3

 

Comité organisateur

Équipe de direction et bénévoles pour la compétition
Le comité organisateur (CO) est dirigé par des membres du personnel de Patinage Canada et de la section Patinage Canada – l’est de l’Ontario. Un comité organisateur local (COL) composé de superviseurs et de coordonnateurs bénévoles a été formé. Conjointement avec le personnel de Patinage Canada, ce comité se chargera du déroulement de l’événement. Le comité organisateur local aidera à recruter, pour les diverses fonctions, des bénévoles qui constitueront l’entière équipe bénévole. On compte recruter 285 bénévoles pour ces événements.

Recrutement des bénévoles
Toutes les personnes intéressées et qualifiées sont invitées à présenter leur candidature aux postes de bénévoles. Afin d’être considéré pour un poste de bénévole, vous devez remplir en ligne le formulaire de demande de bénévolat le plus tôt possible. Les candidats seront acceptés jusqu’à ce que chaque domaine compte le personnel nécessaire. La date limite de demande pour les bénévoles est le 1er décembre 2013. Aucune nouvelle demande ne sera acceptée après cette date.

Les candidats seront avisés de l’état de leur demande dans les 21 jours suivant la présentation de leur demande. Les critères de sélection sont les postes disponibles, les connaissances et l’expérience personnelle, de même que la disponibilité. Après avoir été affecté à un domaine précis, le bénévole sera contacté par un membre de l’équipe de direction pour discuter de son horaire de travail et de ses fonctions. On recommande que chaque bénévole sélectionné accepte de contribuer au moins 20 heures à ces événements.

Les candidats aux postes bénévoles pourraient être tenus de se soumettre une vérification de sécurité ou du casier judiciaire.

Exigences en matière d’âge
Les bénévoles doivent être âgés d’au moins 15 ans en date du 6 janvier 2014 (avec des exceptions spéciales). Voir les renseignements ci-dessous pour les exigences en matière d’âge.

 

Domaines d’intérêt des bénévoles

Compétences générales, qualités et qualifications des bénévoles
Le bénévolat à ces compétitions vous donnera l’occasion de vivre une expérience merveilleuse qui est également associé à la responsabilité d’exercer de votre mieux vos fonctions de bénévole en tant que représentant de Patinage Canada.

Diverses compétences seront exigées pour remplir différents postes, dont les suivantes :

  • capacité d’accueillir chaleureusement les concurrents, le personnel de l’équipe, les médias et les spectateurs
  • excellente communication orale et entregent
  • aptitude à travailler en équipe, de façon professionnelle et courtoise
  • capacité d’exécuter divers travaux manuels
  • des antécédents en patinage artistique et la connaissance du sport sont un atout
  • compétences avancées en informatique – programmes Microsoft Word et Excel
  • excellent sens de l’organisation et capacité de mener plusieurs activités de front
  • capacité de traiter l’information délicate de manière professionnelle et confidentielle
  • capacité de travailler dans un environnement plein d’action et d’énergie
  • capacité de faire face à des situations inattendues et difficiles
  • aptitudes linguistiques – la capacité de travailler en anglais et en français et dans d’autres langues est un atout.


Il y a plusieurs domaines distincts de travail que les bénévoles peuvent choisir :

  1. Généralités
  2. Opérations sur les lieux de la compétition
  3. Hôtel et inscription
  4. Transport
  5. Services médicaux


Un aperçu des différents domaines, de courtes descriptions de travail et les compétences exigées sont fournis pour chaque domaine.

  1. Généralités
    Nous aurons besoin de bénévoles dans d’autres domaines que les grandes catégories mentionnées.
     
  2. Opérations sur les lieux de la compétition
    Compétences générales exigées pour les opérations sur les lieux de la compétition : connaissance fonctionnelle des épreuves du patinage artistique ou des tâches précises. Il est recommandé pour tous les postes que les personnes aient une expérience au niveau des compétitions de club, de la région, de la section ou au niveau national (préférable).

Domaines :

  • Restauration - aider aux salons sur les lieux et autres services de restauration prévus. Créer un milieu accueillant, propre et bien entretenu pour les participants à l’événement. (*)
    Compétences : expérience en préparation des aliments et service; caractère souple et personnalité ouverte.
  • Service à la clientèle – aider au montage, à l’inventaire et à la vente des articles de la boutique et offrir un service à la clientèle au kiosque d’information de Patinage Canada. (*)
    Compétences : personne extravertie et chaleureuse, bonne communication orale; l’expérience d’une caisse enregistreuse, du paiement comptant, des machines pour cartes de débit et de crédit est un atout. Remarque : l’installation pourrait se charger de la boutique et, dans ce cas, les bénévoles pourraient être réaffectés à d’autres domaines connexes.
  • Accompagnateur pour le contrôle de dopage – surveiller les athlètes sélectionnés pour les procédures liées au dopage. Un responsable du contrôle antidopage du CCES offrira une formation sur place.
    Compétences : souci du détail, discrétion et confidentialité exigés. Une expérience antérieure à titre d’accompagnateur pour le contrôle de dopage est préférable. Doit être âgé d’au moins 18 ans.
  • Divertissement sur place – fournir des renseignements généraux ou donner des cadeaux promotionnels au public au niveau du hall et des gradins pendant la compétition et les promotions spéciales sur place, au besoin. Aider à la coordination des programmes scolaires qui initient les élèves d’écoles locales au sport du patinage artistique. (*)
    Compétences : bilinguisme (français et anglais) préféré pour certains postes, bonne communication orale et personnalité ouverte et chaleureuse.
  • Opérations sur glace – préposés aux vestiaires, capitaines de glace, superviseur des patineurs qui récupèrent les fleurs, superviseur des réparateurs de la glace, chronométreurs et autres.
    Compétences : connaissance technique du sport, souci du détail et minutage. Expérience nécessaire au niveau de la section ou au niveau national pour tous les postes.
  • Logistique – montage et démontage des installations durant la compétition, déplacement des articles livrés d’un lieu à l’autre, aide aux cérémonies de remise des médailles (montage du podium). Installation de la signalisation et organisation des salles dans tous les sites et les hôtels. (*)
    Compétences: capacité de lever des objets lourds exigée pour certains postes. Adaptation au changement, souci du détail et capacité d’accomplir simultanément de multiples tâches.
  • Technologie de l’information – aider à l’installation d’ordinateurs, de réseaux, de câblage, etc., aider à recherche la cause de pannes de base concernant les ordinateurs et les applications, être disponible pour les questions liées à la TI et travailler avec divers secteurs pour la connexion au réseau Internet par câble et sans fil.
    Compétences : Habiletés de base de réseautage et de recherche de panne pour Windows et MAC, habiletés de base de recherche de panne pour le réseau et le réseau sans fil et capacité de travailler avec les traducteurs pour surmonter les obstacles linguistiques. Un diplôme dans un domaine lié à l’informatique ou de 2 à 3 ans dans un domaine lié à l’informatique est un atout pour ce rôle.
  • Services aux médias – travailler au centre des médias sur les lieux de la compétition, pour aider les photographes et journalistes, de même que le personnel de Patinage Canada. Fournir les services de traduction quand exigé.
    Compétences : aptitudes en administration et bilinguisme (français et anglais), compétences en informatique, particulièrement pour faire des recherches sur Internet, prendre en note les citations des athlètes et les transcrire correctement.
  • Salle des opérations – opérations générales à la compétition, affichage de l’information, communication de l’information, signature de la feuille de prêt et de retour des radios, affûtage et réparation des patins, raccommodage des costumes, etc. (*)
    Compétences : une connaissance technique du sport et des compétences en informatique sont essentielles – Word et Excel. Expérience obligatoire au niveau des Championnats de section ou au niveau national pour tous les postes.
  • Festivals en plein air pour les partisans – tâches allant du service à la clientèle à l’assistance pour le programme des dignitaires et interaction avec les spectateurs et les partisans participant aux activités du programme du festival des partisans, à l’extérieur de la patinoire, sur le terrain du Centre Canadian Tire et à l’extérieur de l’Hôtel de Ville au centre-ville d’Ottawa. (*)
    Compétences : on encourage les bénévoles ayant une personnalité ouverte et comptant de l’expérience en accueil et services aux dignitaires, dans l’industrie hôtelière et qui parlent l’anglais et une autre langue à faire une demande dans ce domaine.
  • Salle d’impression – impression de divers documents, dont ordres de départ, résultats et communications, affichage et communication de l’information et compilation et préparation du bulletin Daily Spin, au besoin. (*)
    Compétences : une expérience à titre de spécialiste de données ou dans la salle d’impression aux événements nationaux est recommandée.
  • Sécurité – travailler conjointement avec le personnel de sécurité de la patinoire afin de surveiller les points d’accès et vérifier l’accréditation, le système de transport et les hôtels pour s’assurer qu’aucune personne non autorisée ne pénètre dans les zones d’accès restreint et surveiller la sécurité générale des participants.
    Compétences : capacité d’être assertif et attentif en ce qui concerne la vérification des billets et des laissez-passer d’accréditation, capacité de rester debout pendant de longues périodes.
  • Services aux dignitaires – travailler en collaboration avec l’équipe d’inscription pour assurer la meilleure expérience possible pour les invités ou dignitaires.
    Compétences : bilinguisme (français et anglais), bonne communication orale et personnalité ouverte et chaleureuse; une expérience antérieure en gestion des dignitaires constitue un atout.
  • Services bénévoles – pourvoir en personnel le bureau des bénévoles et aider aux services bénévoles quotidiens, dont l’arrivée, le programme de reconnaissance et la diffusion de l’information. (*)
    Compétences: bilinguisme (français et anglais) préféré pour certain postes, bonne communication orale et personnalité ouverte et chaleureuse; un excellent sens de l’organisation et de l’expérience antérieure avec des bénévoles sont des atouts.
  • Participants âgés de moins de 18 ans (de 15 à 17 ans) – veuillez noter que vous ne verrez que l’option « Participants de moins de 18 ans », que vous devrez sélectionner sur le formulaire de demande. Vous serez placé dans l’une des équipes bénévoles ci-dessus ((*) indique les équipes qui peuvent accueillir les personnes de moins de 18 ans). Si une équipe bénévole particulière vous intéresse, veuillez le noter dans la section des commentaires supplémentaires du formulaire de demande.
    Exigences : un parent ou tuteur doit être présent pour la soumission de la demande et lire, comprendre et accepter l’entente de service bénévole incluse dans la demande de bénévolat.
  • Bénévoles mineurs – veuillez noter que ces postes sont assujettis à des essais ou des processus de sélection particuliers.
    • Participants aux cérémonies – le recrutement et la sélection des participants aux cérémonies seront déterminés à la suite d’une séance d’entrevue. Des renseignements supplémentaires seront fournis à une date ultérieure et des renseignements seront affichés sur le site Web de Patinage Canada.
    • Patineurs qui récupèrent les fleurs - le recrutement et la sélection des participants aux cérémonies seront déterminés à la suite d’une séance d’essai. Des renseignements supplémentaires seront fournis à une date ultérieure et des renseignements seront affichés sur le site Web de Patinage Canada.
    • Réparateurs de la glace - ces personnes doivent être âgées d’au moins 13 ans et avoir réussi un test junior bronze ou de niveau plus élevé de Patinage STAR en date du 6 janvier 2014. Une excellente forme physique, le souci du détail et la capacité de patiner avec vitesse sont aussi exigés. Les réparateurs de la glace seront tenus de porter des patins durant leurs périodes de travail.
  1. Hôtel et inscription
    Les bénévoles de cette catégorie aideront aux préparatifs de l’inscription (préparer des trousses d’inscription, etc.) et de l’accréditation (découper, plastifier les accréditations, les enseignes, etc.). Ils inscriront les participants aux événements et fourniront des renseignements généraux tout au long des événements. Autres tâches à l’hôtel officiel : responsables de l’accueil, hôtes et hôtesses, barman et préposés à la réception des billets.
    Compétences : le bilinguisme (anglais et français, d’autres langues sont un atout), une bonne communication orale, une personnalité ouverte et chaleureuse, des connaissances en informatique, la connaissance de la ville, la capacité d’accomplir des tâches multiples, l’attitude professionnelle, une bonne communication orale, l’expérience de l’utilisation d’une caisse enregistreuse et la capacité de traiter rapidement l’information sont des atouts.
     
  2. Transport
    Nous aurons besoin de chauffeurs pour aller chercher et conduire les voyageurs à l’Aéroport, pour effectuer les livraisons et répondre aux besoins spéciaux de transport durant la compétition. Des bénévoles du transport seront aussi exigés pour doter en personnel les bureaux du transport, qui répondront aux questions et organiseront les demandes de transport. Les bénévoles du domaine du transport doivent être titulaires d’un permis de conduire et capables de conduire des véhicules loués (c.-à-d. âge approprié et dossier de conduite).
    Compétences : bonne connaissance du système routier de la ville, excellent conducteur, dossier impeccable, personnalité amicale et courtoise et bonne communication orale.
     
  3. Services médicaux
    Médecins, personnel médical d’urgence, infirmiers et thérapeutes nécessaires pour les soins médicaux à la patinoire. Des administrateurs de la clinique médicale seront aussi exigés. Veuillez remplir le formulaire de demande pour le personnel médical.
    Compétences : titres de compétences nécessaires pour l’approbation de la demande de bénévolat.


Programme de soutien des bénévoles

Uniformes
Tous les bénévoles (maximum de 285) qui contribuent au moins vingt (20) heures de bénévolat recevront un uniforme de bénévole. Cette tenue distinctive devra être portée durant les heures de bénévolat. Les bénévoles doivent fournir leur propre pantalon noir, gris, ou bleu marine. Le port du jeans est interdit durant les séances d’entraînement ou les compétitions, mais est accepté lors du montage et du démontage des installations.

Certaines bénévoles ne recevront pas un uniforme (par ex., les personnes chargées de ramasser les fleurs ou de remplir les trous sur la glace et la participation aux cérémonies), car ces tâches pourraient exiger le port d’une autre tenue vestimentaire. Le chef d’équipe donnera des précisions à ce sujet avant la compétition. Dans tous les cas, ces bénévoles recevront un autre uniforme ou un cadeau équivalent.

Séance d’orientation pour les bénévoles
Tous les bénévoles devront assister à une séance d’orientation intensive afin de se familiariser avec les différents aspects de la compétition et leur domaine particulier de responsabilités. L’orientation est prévue provisoirement pour le mardi 7 janvier 2014 au Centre Canadian Tire; l’heure et l’endroit seront communiqués à une date ultérieure. Les uniformes et l’accréditation seront distribués durant cette séance.

Repas
Les repas des bénévoles seront offerts aux patinoires et à l’hôtel principal. De légers goûters et des boissons seront mis à la disposition des bénévoles toute la journée. Des repas seront fournis aux bénévoles qui travaillent au cours d’une période de repas et durant au moins six (6) heures d’affilée. Les surveillants ou les coordonnateurs de qui relèvent ces bénévoles leur remettront des bons de repas.

Dépenses personnelles
Malheureusement, Patinage Canada n’est pas en mesure de rembourser les dépenses des bénévoles, ce qui inclut le déplacement, l'hébergement et le kilométrage.

 

Comment faire une demande

  1. Remplir le formulaire de demande de bénévolat en ligne à l’adresse www.patinagecanada.ca d’ici la date limite du 1er décembre 2013.
  2. Faites-nous parvenir vos questions à l’adresse 2014canadians@skatecanada.ca ou visitez le document de Foire aux questions (FAQ) sur le site www.patinagecanada.ca.

 

 
Home  |  About Us  |  Join  |  Programs  |  Coaches  |  Store  |  Boutique  |  Members Only
Signin  |  Signup
© 2011 PatinageCanada.ca. Tous droits réservés.