Kerry Leitch

Professional
Kerry Leitch A native of Woodstock, Ontario, Kerry Leitch reached the junior ranks as a figure skater and was also a professional baseball player. After his competitive days ended, he turned his attention to coaching which led to a career that spanned six decades. His early mentors were world-renowned coaches Otto Gold and Marcus Nikkanen. He was the long-time head coach of the Preston Figure Skating Club and he coached both pair and singles. A world championship and Olympic coach, his Champions Training Centre in Cambridge, Ontario, was home to both Canadian and international competitors. He and his coaching team led 48 Canadian champions to the top of the podium, including Lloyd Eisler, Katherina Matousek, Christine (Tuffy) Hough, Doug Ladret, Cynthia Coull, Mark Rowsom, Cindy Landry, and Lyndon Johnston.

As a former Figure Skating Coaches of Canada President and board member of the Canadian Figure Skating Association (now Skate Canada), Leitch helped to push the sport forward through his roles as a coach and sport administrator. He authored figure skating coach certification courses in both Canada and the USA, and was a featured presenter at many Canadian, US and ISU seminars for coaches, skaters and judges.

Inducted into the Skate Canada Hall of Fame 2012.
 

Norman Scott

Builder
Norman Scott A remarkable multi-sport athlete, Norman Scott played hockey at the elite collegiate level before turning to figure skating. In 1914, he won the Canadian men’s title at the inaugural national championships, as well as the pair discipline with his partner Jeanne Chevalier. No figure skating competitions were held during the First World War and throughout this time, Scott served in the Royal Canadian Engineers, the Royal Naval Air Service and the Royal Air Force. He returned home early in 1919 with the rank of Captain and resumed his skating career. At the Canadian Figure Skating Championships in 1920 he again placed first in men’s and also first in the fours event where two pair teams skated together.

Once his competition days were over, he served as the Secretary-Treasurer of the Amateur Skating Association of Canada from 1920-1921 and was a board member from 1922-1934. Scott’s presence in the sport expanded as he focused on judging. In 1932 he was the first Canadian judge appointed to the ISU World Figure Skating Championships® in Montreal, Canada. Scott went on to judge many other prestigious events.

His image is legendary, as it was sculpted onto the original Canadian Championship medal which was used from 1914-1950 at the Canadian Figure Skating Championships.

Inducted into the Skate Canada Hall of Fame 2012.
 

 

 
Home  |  About Us  |  Join  |  Programs  |  Coaches  |  Store  |  Boutique  |  Members Only
Signin  |  
© 2011 SkateCanada.ca. All rights reserved.

Kerry Leitch

Professionnel
Kerry Leitch Originaire de Woodstock, en Ontario, Kerry Leitch a atteint les rangs juniors en tant que patineur artistique en plus d’être aussi un joueur professionnel de baseball. Au terme de ses années de compétition, il a tourné son attention vers l’entraînement, ce qui l’a mené vers une carrière qui s’est échelonnée sur six décennies. Ses premiers mentors ont été les entraîneurs de renommée mondiale Otto Gold et Marcus Nikkanen. Il a été l’entraîneur en chef de longue date du Club de patinage artistique Preston et a entraîné des patineurs en couple et en simple. Entraîneur au niveau des Championnats du monde et des Jeux olympiques, il a accueilli des concurrents canadiens et internationaux à son Champions Training Centre, à Cambridge, en Ontario. Son équipe d’entraîneurs et lui ont mené 48 champions canadiens au haut du podium, y compris Lloyd Eisler, Katherina Matousek, Christine (Tuffy) Hough, Doug Ladret, Cynthia Coull, Mark Rowsom, Cindy Landry et Lyndon Johnston.

Ancien président d’Entraîneurs en patinage artistique du Canada et membre du conseil d’administration de l’Association canadienne de patinage artistique (à présent Patinage Canada), Kerry a favorisé l’avancement du sport dans l’exercice de ses fonctions d’entraîneur et d’administrateur de sport. Il a créé des cours de certification pour les entraîneurs de patinage artistique au Canada et aux États-Unis et a été le présentateur invité à de nombreux séminaires offerts au Canada, aux États-Unis et par l’ISU aux entraîneurs, patineurs et juges.

Intronisé au Temple de la renommée de Patinage Canada en 2012.
 

Norman Scott

Bâtisseur
Norman Scott Remarquable athlète multisports, Norman Scott a joué au hockey au niveau collégial d’élite avant de s’adonner au patinage artistique. En 1914, il a remporté le titre masculin canadien aux championnats nationaux inauguraux, ainsi que la discipline de patinage en couple avec sa partenaire Jeanne Chevalier. Aucune compétition de patinage artistique n’a eu lieu durant la Première Guerre mondiale et durant cet intervalle, M. Scott a servi dans le Corps royal du génie canadien, le Royal Naval Air Service et la Royal Air Force. Il est rentré au pays en 1919 avec le grade de capitaine et a repris sa carrière au patinage. En 1920, aux Championnats canadiens de patinage artistique, il s’est de nouveau classé premier chez les hommes et aussi premier dans l’épreuve de patinage en quatuor, pour laquelle deux équipes de patinage en couple patinent ensemble.

Lorsqu’il a cessé de concourir, il est devenu secrétaire-trésorier de l’Association de patinage amateur du Canada, de 1920 à 1921, puis membre du conseil d’administration, de 1922 à 1934. La présence de M. Scott s’est davantage fait sentir alors qu’il s’est concentré sur les fonctions de juge. En 1932, il a été le premier juge canadien nommé aux Championnats du monde ISU de patinage artistique, tenus à Montréal, au Canada. Il a ensuite exercé ses fonctions de juge à beaucoup d’autres événements prestigieux.

Son image est légendaire étant donné qu’elle a été sculptée dans la médaille originale des Championnats canadiens, décernée de 1914 à 1950 aux Championnats canadiens de patinage artistique.

Intronisée au Temple de la renommée de Patinage Canada en 2012.
 

 

 
Home  |  About Us  |  Join  |  Programs  |  Coaches  |  Store  |  Boutique  |  Members Only
Signin  |  
© 2011 PatinageCanada.ca. Tous droits réservés.