(November 11, 2009) – On November 4th the Coaching Association of Canada announced that 46 coaches will receive the 2009 Petro-Canada Coaching Excellence Award.  Four of the 46 award winners are Skate Canada coaches: Shelley Barnett, Janet Collins, Manon Perron and Marina Zoueva.

The prestigious award recognizes coaches whose athletes excelled at world championships and at the Special Olympics World Winter Games.

“Skate Canada is lucky to have so many talented coaches for our skaters to work with. A skater’s success depends much on the relationship they have with their coach and how a coach can develop the skater,” said Skate Canada CEO William Thompson. “Awards such as these shine a light on coaches who are sometimes left out of the spotlight. The Coaching Association of Canada does an excellent job of bringing attention to the great coaches we have in our country. Congratulations to all 46 coaches.”

Shelley Barnett of Burlington, Ont., won the award for the third year in a row. Barnett is the coach of the World Champion synchronized skating team NEXXICE. She has led the team to three back-to-back Canadian title (2007, 2008, 2009) and three world medals, bronze in 2007 and 2008 and gold in 2009.

Janet Collins of Wasaga Beach, Ont., coaches Special Olympic World Winter Games gold medalist Christine Koutras and bronze medalist Vicky Dupont.  She is an active member with the Collingwood Skating Club.

Manon Perron of Boucherville, Que., is the coach of five-time Canadian Champion Joannie Rochette. Perron led Rochette to her first world medal this year. Rochette placed second at the 2009 ISU World Figure Skating Championships.

Marina Zoueva of Canton, Michigan, is the coach of ice dancers Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir. Zoueva has nurtured the young dance team to two Canadian titles and two world medals, silver in 2008 and bronze in 2009.

The awards will be presented during the Petro-Canada Sport Leadership sportif 2009 at the Sport Leadership Ceremony on November 13, 2009 at the Sheraton Vancouver Wall Centre Grand Ballroom.

Congratulations to Shelley, Janet, Manon, Marina and all the coaches who received the award!

Home  |  About Us  |  Join  |  Programs  |  Coaches  |  Store  |  Boutique  |  Members Only
Signin  |  
© 2011 SkateCanada.ca. All rights reserved.