Canadian Figure Skaters Off to Japan for the Final Stop on the ISU Grand Prix Circuit

OTTAWA, ON: Canada will send six athletes to the sixth and last stop on the ISU Grand Prix of Figure Skating in Miyagi, Japan. The 2012 NHK Trophy will take place from November 23-25, 2012, at the Sekisui Heim Super Arena. Canada will have a total of four entries in three disciplines: two in men’s, one in pair, and one in ice dance.

Kevin Reynolds, 22, Coquitlam, B.C., will be one of two Canadian entries in men’s. Reynolds has previously competed at this event in 2008, placing fourth. This will be his second grand prix assignment of the season, having already earned fifth place at the Cup of China. He also placed fourth this season at the Ondrej Nepela Trophy, a senior international competition. Reynolds is coached by Joanne McLeod at the BC Centre of Excellence.

Andrei Rogozine, 19, Richmond Hill, Ont., will also complete in men’s for Canada. The 2011 World Junior Champion will be competing at his second event of the season, and first ISU Grand Prix event of the season. Rogozine placed ninth at Nebelhorn Trophy, a senior international competition in Germany, earlier this season. He is coached by Inga Zusev and Andrei Berezintsev.

In the pair category, Kirsten Moore-Towers, 20, St. Catharines, Ont. and Dylan Moscovitch, 27, Toronto, Ont., are the sole Canadian entry. This is their second ISU Grand Prix assignment of the season, having placed fourth at the Cup of China. They also won gold at the 2012 U.S. International Figure Skating Classic, a senior international competition. Moore-Towers and Moscovitch train with Kris Wirtz and Kristy Wirtz at the Kitchener-Waterloo Skating Club.

Nicole Orford, 20, Burnaby, B.C. and Thomas Williams, 21, Okotoks, Alta., will represent Canada in ice dance. This will be their second event of the season as well as second career ISU Grand Prix assignment. Orford and Williams placed eighth at the Rostelecom Cup in Russia earlier this season. They are coached by Megan Wing and Aaron Lowe at the B.C. Centre of Excellence.

Skate Canada Director High Performance, Mike Slipchuk, will be the Canadian team leader at the event. Physiotherapist Paige Larson of North Vancouver, B.C., will be the Canadian medical staff onsite. Janice Hunter of West Vancouver, B.C., and Jeff Lukasik of Calgary, Alta., will be the Canadian officials at the event.

Follow us on Facebook and twitter for updates on the Canadian skaters from all of the ISU Grand Prix of Figure Skating events. The ISU broadcast rights are owned by CBC television. Watch the event on CBC and SRC.

For results and full entries please visit www.isu.org.


Men's Kevin Reynolds
Coquitlam, B.C. Vancouver SC Joanne McLeod
Men's Andrei Rogozine
Richmond Hill, Ont. Richmond Hill FSC Inga Zusev / Andrei Berezintsev
Pair Kirsten Moore-Towers / Dylan Moscovitch
20 / 27
St. Catharines, Ont. / Toronto, Ont. Kitchener-Waterloo SC / Kitchener-Waterloo SC Kris Wirtz / Kristy Wirtz
Ice Dance Nicole Orford / Thomas Williams
20 / 21
Burnaby, B.C. / Okotoks, Alta. Inlet SC / Calalta Community FSC Megan Wing / Aaron Lowe


Home  |  About Us  |  Join  |  Programs  |  Coaches  |  Store  |  Boutique  |  Members Only
Signin  |  
© 2011 SkateCanada.ca. All rights reserved.