(June 12, 2009) – The 2009 Skate Canada Annual Convention and General Meeting (ACGM) wrapped up Saturday night after three days of celebrations, workshops and business meetings. The theme of this year’s ACGM was Defining Moments, which set the tone for the weekend. The National Coaches’ Conference was held in conjunction with the ACGM with over 200 coaches from across the country in Edmonton to participate in workshops and on-ice sessions.

The “Gold Rush” themed convention opening and reception was held Thursday evening at the Westin Edmonton Ballroom. CBC figure skating commentator Scott Russell hosted the reception as World Champion Donald Jackson, the first man to complete a triple Lutz in competition, and World Champion Brian Orser, the first man to complete a triple Axel combination; welcomed the newest World Champion Jeffrey Buttle,who captured the title in 2008 in Sweden, into the exclusive World Champion club. The evening began with a special video unveiling of a new song called “I Will Achieve” written for Skate Canada by Skate Canada Director of Coaching and Skating Programs, Jeff Partrick and performed by Jeff and Donna King, Skate Canada Skating Programs Senior Manager.

During the day on Friday, delegates attended a number of workshops including, content on the delivery of skating programs, marketing and sponsorship, communications, finance and athlete development. A special feature was a series of workshops on Friday morning called “CanSkate Live”. To celebrate the 25th Anniversary of the CanSkate Program Skate Canada offered a workshop on marketing the CanSkate program, another workshop on administrating your CanSkate program at the club and finally a live on-ice demonstration of an exceptional CanSkate program delivered by the Best of the Best CanSkate Coaches. It was a highlight of the ACGM for many!

Skate Canada volunteers, coaches, officials and skaters were recognized for their ongoing contribution to figure skating at the 2009 Skate Canada Achievement Awards Gala and Banquet on Friday June 5. The special theme of the evening was “Crowning Moments” and hosts Mike Slipchuk and Debbi Wilkes, both part of the Skate Canada executive team, delighted the audience with their good-humored banter.

Several members of Skate Canada’s national team and all the current Canadian Champions assisted with the award presentations. Prior to the Gala and Banquet, the award winners were special guests of a President’s Reception, where they mingled with the athletes, sponsors and Skate Canada executive members. Each winner received a blanket courtesy of IBAC. Artistry, the official skin care and cosmetics sponsor of Skate Canada provided a special gift to both the Skate Canada Club and Recreational Coach Award and the Skate Canada Competitive Coach Award of Excellence.

National sponsor Sony was also on hand to provide pictures to all present members by setting up a photo booth allowing people to walk away with a souvenir of the evening.

HomeSense, who sponsored the StarSkater of the Year award, presented a gift card to 2009 StarSkater of the Year Ashley Pasiciel of the Cypress School of Skating. HomeSense also provided gift cards to draw amongst the tables during the reception and  Artistry provided gift bags at each place setting.

Overall the week was a huge success with many coaches, volunteers, athletes and Skate Canada staff members creating their own Defining Moment!

Check out some of the photos from the event below!

To read more about this year’s Skate Canada Achievement Award winners, click here.

Future champion and BMO CanSkater of the year Madison Lessard receives her award from World silver medalist Joannie Rochette and BMO representative Chris Menard.

Éric Therrien picks up his coaching award from World bronze medalists Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir and Artistry representative Natalie Obregon.

Ice dancers Abigail Seewald and Lee Royer of Royal Glenora club in Edmonton pick up the competitive athlete award from fellow ice dancers Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir.

Patrick Chan and Margarette Wong smile big for the camera.

Dolores Allin smiles with Jennifer Beauchamp.

Kathy Sutherland receives her coaching award from Canadian Champions Jessica Dubé and Bryce Davison and Artistry representative Carmela Ianni.

Smiles all around as Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir award Ann Shaw.

Sharon Dahl smiles with five-time Canadian Champion Joannie Rochette.

Bev Padget smiles with Bryce Davison and Jessica Dubé.

Tessa Virtue hands off the award to winner Enid Davidson with Scott Moir.

Tammy Dunbar receives her award from World silver medalist Patrick Chan.

Joannie Rochette and Lyn Mullins give a friendly smile.

World Champ Jennifer Beauchamp poses with Clare MacDonald.

Canadian Champions Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir present Wayne Brooks of COS with his award.

Bryce Davison, Éric Bergeron and Jessica Dubé smile pretty for the camera.

Looking like twins Joannie Rochette hands Cynthia Benson her award.

Patrick Chan is all smiles as he hands off the award to Peter Mattatall

Award winner June Easter with World Syncho Champ Jennifer Beauchamp.

Betty Brett is all smiles as she receives her
awards from Canadian Champ Patrick Chan.


Home  |  About Us  |  Join  |  Programs  |  Coaches  |  Store  |  Boutique  |  Members Only
Signin  |  
© 2011 SkateCanada.ca. All rights reserved.