(January 16, 2009)

–It was junior ice dance once again to hit the ice first. Quebec ice dancers Karen Routhier and Eric Sauche-Lacelle were able to keep the lead and take home the title of 2009 Canadian Junior Ice Dance Champions. They scored 77.27 points in free dance for an overall score of 163.53. In 2008, Routhier and Sauche-Lacelle won the silver medal. 

British Columbia’sTarrah Harvey and Keith Gagnon followed in second with 76.68 points in the free dance and 163.53 for a total score. Holding strong to claim the bronze medal were Alexandra Paul and Jason Cheperdak of British Columbia Yukon section. They scored 72.26 in the free for an overall score of 150.26.

At 11:00 a.m. the opening press conference began. William Thompson, Skate Canada CEO, Mike Slipchuk, Skate Canada Director High Performance and Kieron Kilduff, Vice President, Branch Manager & Investment Advisor, BMO Nesbitt Burns Inc, all spoke about the excitement this event brings to skaters, fans and the host city.

“We of course are happy to be back in Saskatoon,” said William Thompson, Skate Canada CEO. “It’s a little cold but this is a great event for the skaters and fans to really get to see great Canadian skating.”

Patrick Chan, Joannie Rochette, Jessica Dubé and Bryce Davison and Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir all took part in the press conference answering questions and participating in one-on-one interviews at the conclusion.   



Next up were the junior women. Manitoba’s Kate Charbonneau came from behind to win the 2009 Junior Canadian Women’s title. Charbonneau, who was fifth after the short program stepped up her game to grab the gold with 79.30 points in the free program for an overall total of 120.41.

British Columbia’s Cambria Little had an outstanding free program to jump seven spots to second place. She finished with 78.79 points in the free and 119.18 points total. Western Ontario’s Rylie McCulloch-Casarsa clinched the bronze medal after finishing in eighth in the short program. She scored 74.21 points in the free for a total of 114.82. 

The junior pair competition began today with the short program. Brittany Jones and Kurtis Gaskell from the Western Ontario section currently sit in first place with 48.96 points. Quebec’s Sara Jones and Jeremy Sandor follow in second with 45.35 points and Zoey Brown and Ian Beharry of Western Ontario are a close third with 45.17. The junior pair competition will finish on Saturday, January 17, 2009.

The junior men closed off the night. It was Andrei Rogozine from Central Ontario who was able to secure the gold medal. Rogozine scored an impressive 97.24 points in the free program for a total of 149.77. He was originally second after the short program.

Eastern Ontario’s Paul Parkinson was the junior men’s story; Parkinson came from behind to win the silver medal. After a tenth place finish in the short program he had the second best score in the free program, 96.37 for a total of 141.46 points. Quebec’s Sébastien Wolfe dropped to third with a free program score of 89.58 and a grand total of 140.60.

Tickets are still available!

Tickets are available online at


, by phone at 306.938.7800 and in person at the Credit Union Centre box office.

Home  |  About Us  |  Join  |  Programs  |  Coaches  |  Store  |  Boutique  |  Members Only
Signin  |  
© 2011 SkateCanada.ca. All rights reserved.